Book Review: One Last Summer at Hideaway Bay by Zoe Cook

Today I've got a review for One Last Summer at Hideaway Bay, Zoë Cook's debut novel. Secrets lie waiting beneath the Cornish waves in this moving and unforgettable love story. Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes.

Title: One Last Summer at Hideaway
Author: Zoë Cook
Published: July 21st 2016 by HarperImpulse

Blurb: Lucy, hi. It’s Tom. How are you? It’s been a while. I’ve been meaning to get in touch but it’s hard to know how to after so much time. I hear you’re doing really well up there. I knew you would be.

You should come here, you know, back to Hideaway bay. Come and see everyone, see how little it’s all changed. Feel the sand between your toes, the Cornish sea breeze on your face. When the sun hits the surf in that way it does, it’s as magical as ever.

That’s why I’m writing to you, actually. I want to get the gang back together again, one last time before…well…just one last time. You should come too. The four of us, a summer on the beach, like old times. We all want you here for it. I want you here for it. It’s been so long since I saw you.

I still think about you.


Review: When I first picked One Last Summer at Hideaway Bay, I thought it was going to be a light quick summer read with a cute love story but after reading it, I can tell you that this story is so much more. For starters, it's quite emotional; I found myself shading a tear or two more than once. And it also makes you think a lot about life and how important it is to not live in the past and value all what is important in life.

The story starts in London where we meet Lucy. She thinks she has the perfect life, glamorous job, great colleagues to go partying, loving boyfriend... but we soon realise that Lucy's life is far from perfect. She parties a bit too much and too hard, her boss is just evil and her world is about to collapse. So she decides to go back to her home town in Cornwall for a month to get back on her feet and reevaluate. The contrast between these two world was clear, and soon after she was back in Cornwall, we started seeing a new friendlier and kinder Lucy (which made me happy because I was not a big fan of the Lucy we met in London).

My favourite character in the story was probably Tom, Lucy's ex. He was the one who organised for Lucy and their friends to go back to Cornwall and spend the summer together. And he was such a sweetheart. So fun, kind and lively. I enjoyed reading about their friends too. They were quite an unconventional couple but you could tell how much they loved each other and they added a funnier spark to the story. 

This book had it all: humour, cuteness, stunning setting, sadness, love, secrets, friendship... It did surprise me a couple of times even if I figured out what was going to happen quite early. This fact didn't spoil the story for me though as I ended really caring for Tom and Lucy and their friends and I loved knowing more about them. 

Rating: 4 stars

I would like to thank the publishers for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris