Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

Today I review My Lady Jane, a book co-written by three YA adults that re-interprets the story of Lady Jane Grey, who reigned in England for 9 days. Read my thoughts about it here:

Title: My Lady Jane
Authors: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows
Published: September 1st 2016 by Walker Books

Blurb: A comical, fantastical and witty re-imagining of the Tudor world, perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger - and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that's the least of Jane's problems. She's about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

Review: My Lady Jane is like nothing I've read before. When I first got it, I thought it might be some kind of historical fiction romance with humorous touches but imagine my surprise when I discovered a crazy story with tones of humor, magic that completely re-imagines a real event in the history of England.

For example, take our main character: Lady Jane Grey, a fifteen-year-old bookworm who ends up married to a horse and after his cousin's death, the then sixteen-year-old king, is crowned queen (and might or might lose her head a few days later). Yes, you've read that right, a horse. In the book, there are people who can transform into animals. And there's a bit of a war between the people who have this ability and those who don't. This might sound crazy but it actually works perfectly in the story. Everything makes a lot of sense and the narrators have the most hilarious way to explain it all. Their comments about the story are spot on and they make you feel part if it all. That might actually be my only complaint about the book: there are not enough ironic comments from the narrators.

I found My Lady Jane to be a really creative and original book. The characters were all complex and layered and I just wanted to keep learning more about them. Lady Jane herself was for me the star of the story, with her clever comments and her brave behaviour, I loved following her around. The authors even managed to include some love scenes and stories that complemented the main plot perfectly without taking centre stage.

All in all, I had a great time reading My Lady Jane. It was not at all what I was expecting but this turned out to be a good thing.

If you are looking for some laughs and some craziness that actually makes sense in the strangest way, My Lady Jane is the book for you. I am now curious to discover other work by these authors.

Rating: 4 stars

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris