Book Review: The Year of Saying Yes Part 1 by Hannah Doyle

Today I review the first installment in the serialised enovel, The Year of Saying Yes by Hannah Dole: Join Izzy on her journey from January blues to joy. Fans of Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Lucy-Anne Holmes, you're in for a real treat.

Title: The Year of Saying Yes Part 1: It Started with a Dare
Author: Hannah Doyle
Published: December 15th 2016 by Headline

Blurb: Dear Readers

It's drizzling outside, which totally matches my #currentmood. Pigs in blankets, all the mince pies and a festive Baileys or five are distant memories. You know the drill - it's January. Everyone's banning booze (terrible idea) or cutting carbs (impossible). To add to the misery pile, my plans to seduce the man of my dreams at the stroke of midnight flopped spectacularly.

I'm Izzy. I don't just need a New Year resolution, I need a whole new life. And I need YOU. My dreary life is about to get a total makeover - it's my 'Year of Saying Yes'. And this is where you come in. It's up to you to #DareIzzy. I'm saying yes to your challenges, no matter how nuts, adventurous or wild they are. The sky's the limit - I'm at your mercy, readers!

Wish me luck. I have a feeling I'm going to need it.


Izzy x 

Don't miss Part 2 of Izzy's adventure, where Izzy is challenged to ask a total stranger for his number, pose naked for a life drawing class and, wait for it... perform at Glastonbury!

Review: 2017 started with a bit of a read slump for me, so when I spotted someone on Twitter talking about this story and saw that the first part was free on Amazon, I downloaded it and started reading it immediately. Gosh, I'm so glad that I did! I hadn't had so much fun with a book for a long time. As soon as I finished it, I pre-ordered the other 3 parts of the book and I'm already itching to keep reading Izzy's story. 

There's nothing I didn't like in this story. The writing was fast-paced and extremely funny, the characters were lovely and the whole idea behind it was warm and inspirational. Basically, Izzy is tired of New Year's resolutions that deprive you of good things (like chocolate) so she decides to say yes to new things. She even encourages the readers of her magazine to challenge her to do things she would never do. How extremely cool is this? This definitely made me want to say yes to more things myself, because who doesn't need originality and new adventures in their lives?

I highly encourage everyone to pick this story (say yes to it!) and be inspired by it, to laugh with (of) Issy, and basically have a great time. Perfect to beat the January blues! 

Rating: 5 stars

You Might Also Like

2 comentaris

  1. Hey, I've downloaded this one already. Sounds perfect to combat bad January resolutions. Great review

  2. Sounds a fun read Alba. Perfect for uplifting your mood :)