January Releases I Am Excited About

New year brings new books and this one starts with a bang! January comes full of amazing books. I am really excited that some of my all my favourite authors have books out this month, but also that some really interesting debuts are coming our way too. I love discovering new voices. Here are the new releases I am most looking forward to: 

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber - January 5th

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Why so excited: When I was offered this book to review, it instantly caught my attention. The story sounds unique and really interesting and I've only heart good things about it. It's on top of my tbr-pile. 

The Legacy of Lucy Harte by Emma Heatherington - January 12th 

‘Sometimes time is all we have with the people we love the most. I ask you to slow down in life. To take your time, but don’t waste it….’

Maggie O'Hara knows better than most that life can change in a heartbeat. Eighteen years ago she was given the most precious gift- a second-hand heart, and a second chance at life.

Always thankful, Maggie has never forgotten Lucy Harte – the little girl that saved her life. But as Maggie's own life begins to fall apart, and her heart is broken in love, she loses sight of everything she has to live for…

Until an unexpected letter changes everything and brings Maggie back into the life of Lucy Harte – and a chance for Maggie to get her life back on track once more.

Lucy's final gift to Maggie is much more than the heart that beats inside her. It's a legacy that Maggie must learn to live by. A chance to make her heart skip a beat with every new discovery she makes; a promise to live, laugh, fall in love and heal her broken heart for good.

Because as the keeper of a borrowed heart, Maggie's time is more precious than most and she must make every cherished second count…

Why so excited: This sounds like exactly my kind of book, full of emotion and amazing characters. Another debut author to discover. 

The Secret Lives of the Amir Sisters by Nadiya Hussain - January 12th

The eagerly awaited debut novel from the much-loved winner of The Great British Bake Off

The four Amir sisters – Fatima, Farah, Bubblee and Mae – are the only young Muslims in the quaint English village of Wyvernage.

On the outside, despite not quite fitting in with their neighbours, the Amirs are happy. But on the inside, each sister is secretly struggling.

Fatima is trying to find out who she really is – and after fifteen attempts, finally pass her driving test. Farah is happy being a wife but longs to be a mother. Bubblee is determined to be an artist in London, away from family tradition, and Mae is coping with burgeoning Youtube stardom.

Yet when family tragedy strikes, it brings the Amir sisters closer together and forces them to learn more about life, love, faith and each other than they ever thought possible.

Why so excited: Who wasn't happy when Nadiya won the GBBO? I haven't read her recipe books yet, but I'm really curious to read her first full-length novel. The story sound really intriguing. 

New York, Actually by Sarah Morgan - January 26th 

Meet Molly

New York’s most famous agony aunt, she considers herself an expert at relationships…as long as they’re other people’s. The only love of her life is her Dalmatian, Valentine.

Meet Daniel

A cynical divorce lawyer, he’s hardwired to think relationships are a bad idea. If you don’t get involved, no-one can get hurt. But then he finds himself borrowing a dog to meet the gorgeous woman he sees running in Central Park every morning…

Molly and Daniel think they know everything there is to know about relationships…until they meet each other that is…

Why so excited: the queen of romance is back! And she takes us to New York again! What else can you ask for? 

White Lies and Wishes by Cathy Bramley - January 26th

What happens when what you wish for is only half the story...?

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she’s got no time for love; she’s determined to save her family’s failing footwear business.

New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she’ll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm.

Bored, over-eating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds – she’d love to finally wear a bikini in public.

The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter’s day, and in a moment of ‘Carpe Diem’ madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.

Easy. At least it would be, if they hadn’t been just the teensiest bit stingy with the truth…

With hidden issues, hidden talents, and hidden demons to overcome, new friends Jo, Carrie and Sarah must admit to what they really, really want, if they are ever to get their happy endings.

A feel-good romantic comedy that's guaranteed to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

Why so excited: If you know me, you'll know that I love Cathy Bramley's books. Plus, this is my current read and I can tell you this one is special! 

Honeymoon Suite by Wendy Holden - January 26th

Wendy Holden, the number one bestselling queen of romantic comedy, returns with a warm tale that is sure to charm her many fans and delight those who can't get enough of Kathy Lette and Jane Green.

'Wendy Holden on form is a thing to behold' Daily Mail

When Sophie is left at the altar, she decides to press ahead with the honeymoon regardless. So she and best friend Izzy head for the bridal suite at the Normanton Arms in Derbyshire. Sophie's heart is breaking and the idea of going home alone is simply too much and so, when fate conspires to keep her at the hotel, she doesn't object.

It's a long road to rehabilitation but Sophie finds the gentle folk of Derbyshire a welcome distraction and as she becomes tangled in their lives and weaves her way into their hearts, she realises there might just be a way to reach the rainbow's end after all.

Why so excited: Quite surprisingly, I haven't read any books by Wendy Holden yet, so I thought it was time to rectify that. I've only heart great things about her, I cannot wait to discover her writing myself.

You Might Also Like

2 comentaris

  1. I agree, some great books there. The one that catches my eye is The Legacy of Lucy Harte. I wonder what she left - other than the heart? Adding to my TBR pile.

  2. Great choices there Alba.

    I've read White Lies and Wishes and have Lucy Harte on the tbr. I LOVE Sarah Morgan :)

    Thanks for linking