Christmas Fun Time with Rachel Burton

This year, for my Christmas feature, I've invited several authors and book bloggers for a fun Christmas Interview. My next guest is author Rachel Burton:

Hi Rachel and welcome. Your debut, The Many Colours of Us, is about Julia Simmonds who embarks on a journey of self-discovery when she finds out who her father is. Tell us a bit more about her and what sparked this idea.
The idea actually came when I was re-reading Bleak House by Charles Dickens. I was playing with the thought of writing a modern day version of the book and, in particular, the story of Esther - an orphan who finds out her parents are alive after all and her mother is very wealthy (well sort of, being Dickens it's a lot more tragic than that!). I wondered how such a story would play out in modern day London and so the first threads of the Many Colours of Us were woven together! Throw in a gorgeous solicitor and some mysterious letters and.....

And what can we expect from you next?
My second book, The Things We Need to Say, is out with HQ Digital on 11 May 2018 and is up for preorder now. It's the story of a marriage and of life not working out the way you want, it's about grief and hope and love and happiness and I have my fingers firmly crossed that you will all like it! 

Now that Christmas is fast approaching, let's talk about Christmas settings. Would you rather spend it on a turquoise water beach with a cocktail in your hand or in the Polar circle surrounded by husky puppies? 
Absolutely on the beach. My mum's side of the family live in Australia and the best Christmases have been spent in the sun on the beach. I'm not a fan of winter at all! 

If you could sneak into a literary world during this holiday, where would you go?
I do love a Christmas book and if it's a Christmas book set somewhere warm all the better - this year I've really enjoyed Maxine Morrey's The Christmas Holiday (which takes place in India, Malaysia and Florida so mostly nice and warm) and Victoria Cooke's The Holiday Cruise, which has a brilliant Christmas scene in the Caribbean. Either of those suits me just fine! 

Would you like to write a festive story yourself?
It's not something I've thought about to be honest although now I'm definitely thinking about a Christmas Down Under book! 

And finally, what's the 2018 new release you are most looking forward to?
There's two that I can highly recommend so far and have been lucky enough to have already read. Firstly, if you want a thriller with a difference then The Chalk Man by CJ Tudor is out in January. If historical fiction is more in your line then Island in the East by Jenny Ashcroft is a truly beautiful read. It's not out until June but the ebook is available on Amazon now. 

Thank you so much Rachel so much for stopping by and sharing some Christmas cheer with us! 

Rachel Burton Author Bio

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down. 

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn't really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut novel THE MANY COLORUS OF US was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second, THE THINGS WE NEED TO SAY, is out in May 2018. She is currently working on her third book about a woman who followed the love of her life to a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all... maybe. 

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday...

About the Book:

Title: The Many Colours of Us
Author: Rachel Burton
Published: April 27th 2017 by HQ Stories

Blurb: ‘Gorgeous, touching story, wonderful heroine, and I'm totally smitten with the hero.’ - Cressida McLaughlin, bestselling author of The Canal Boat Cafe

Fall in love with Rachel Burton’s stunning debut novel, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Adele Parks and Sheila O’Flanagan

Can finding yourself allow you to follow your heart?

Julia Simmonds had never been bothered about not knowing who her father was. Having temperamental supermodel, Philadelphia Simmonds, as a mother was more than enough. Until she discovers she’s the secret love-child of the late, great artist Bruce Baldwin, and her life changes forever.

Uncovering the secrets of a man she never knew, Julia discovers that Bruce had written her one letter, every year until her eighteenth birthday, urging his daughter to learn from his mistakes.

Julia begins to dig deeper into the mysterious past of her parents she also begins to unravel her future. With gorgeous lawyer Edwin Jones for company Julia not only begins to discover her roots but she may just fall in love…

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris