January Releases I Am Excited About

Can you believe it's 2018 already? And it looks like it's going to be a great bookish year! Today I'm sharing the new releases I am excited about this month and I've decided to include not only releases by some of my favourite authors but also some out of my comfort zone reads as this year I want to read more genres and discover more authors. Here they are:

The Secrets Between Us by Laura Madeleine - January 1st

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House and Dinah Jeffries' Before the Rains.

High in the mountains in the South of France, eighteen-year-old Ceci Corvin is trying hard to carry on as normal. But in 1943, there is no such thing as normal; especially not for a young woman in love with the wrong person. Scandal, it would seem, can be more dangerous than war.

Fifty years later, Annie is looking for her long-lost grandmother. Armed with nothing more than a sheaf of papers, she travels from England to Paris in pursuit of the truth. But as she traces her grandmother’s story, Annie uncovers something she wasn’t expecting, something that changes everything she knew about her family – and everything she thought she knew about herself…

Why so excited: I've already read this one and I can tell you that I enjoyed it immensely, a very well crafted story with lots of secrets and incredible love. I'll share my review later this month as part of the Blog Tour, don't miss it!

How to Hand a Witch by Adriana Mather - January 4th

The trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past in this thrilling, creepy and romantic New York Times bestseller.

"I am utterly addicted to Adriana Mather’s electric debut. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, twisting and turning with ghosts, witches, an ancient curse, and – sigh – romance." Jennifer Niven

After Sam's father is hospitalised, she has to move from New York to Salem with her stepmother, Vivian. Unfortunately, Sam is related to Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for the Salem Witch Trials, and to say she feels unwelcome in Salem is an understatement... She is particularly unnerved by The Descendants, a mysterious and tight-knit group of girls related to those persecuted in the Trials. At the same time, she must deal with Elijah, the handsome but angry ghost who has appeared in her house, and her new neighbour Jaxon only complicates things further.

When a centuries-old curse is rekindled, Sam finds herself at the centre of it. Can she stop history repeating itself?

Why so excited: I'm very intrigued by this story. It's something completely different from what I usually read so I expect to be surprised and shocked. Plus, I've read some ravishing reviews that have really piqued my curiosity.

Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan - January 11th 

‘The best courtroom drama since Apple Tree Yard … sensational’ Clare Mackintosh

A high-profile marriage thrust into the spotlight. A wife, determined to keep her family safe, must face a prosecutor who believes justice has been a long time coming. A scandal that will rock Westminster. And the women caught at the heart of it. 

Anatomy of a Scandal centres on a high-profile marriage that begins to unravel when the husband is accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is sure her husband, James, is innocent and desperately hopes to protect her precious family from the lies which might ruin them. Kate is the barrister who will prosecute the case – she is equally certain that James is guilty and determined he will pay for his crimes.

‘A compelling and cautionary story about how we can never truly know someone else; how even after twelve years of marriage, a wife might not know everything about her husband. Brilliant, shocking, and gripping, once I started, I couldn't stop reading’ Claire Fuller, bestselling author of Our Endless Numbered Days

'That rare book that combines great writing, spot-on characterisation and a compulsive, page-turning narrative. I read it in one breathless day. Set against a fascinating backdrop of the Houses of Parliament, the Old Bailey and Oxford University, think House of Cards meets The Secret History. Meticulously researched, this is an outstanding read' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

Why so excited: in the last few months, I've seen this book everywhere and everyone who has read it, has raved about it. I finally got to read an advance copy during the holidays and I can tell you that the hype around this story is completely deserved. Look out for my review really soon and pre-order your own copy, you won't be disappointed!

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings - January 11th

YA Sci-Fi featuring an all-girl spaceship crew taking control and showing the boy’s how it’s done, with romance, tragedy and ray-guns.

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Marauder, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.

When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a powerful bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.

Why so excited: I don't read a lot of sci-fi but last year I was completely blown away by The Loneliest Girl in the Universe, so I've decided to include more titles of this genre in my future reads. And this one sounds amazing with an all-girl crew!

Still Me by Jojo Moyes - January 25th

Lou Clark is back in the ALL NEW Jojo Moyes novel Still Me, follow-up to the Number One international bestsellers Me Before You and After You.

Lou Clark knows too many things . . .

She knows how many miles lie between her new home in New York and her new boyfriend Sam in London.

She knows her employer is a good man and she knows his wife is keeping a secret from him.

What Lou doesn't know is she's about to meet someone who's going to turn her whole life upside down.

Because Josh will remind her so much of a man she used to know that it'll hurt.

Lou won't know what to do next, but she knows that whatever she chooses is going to change everything.

Why so excited: Lou Clark is back! Who isn't excited? This is probably one of my most anticipated books of the year and it's out in a few weeks already! I cannot wait.

You Might Also Like

1 comentaris

  1. Some interesting picks. Zenith seems to be on alot of lists sci fi isnt my thing but I hope everyone loves it as I love Sashas YouTube channel.