February Releases I Am Excited About


February is going to be quite an eventful month for me as we are moving to a new place in the next few days. All my books are in boxes already and I don't know when I will be able to "rescue" them as I'm planning to get bigger bookshelves for the new place. BUT! February is here with lots of new titles I want to read and I wanted to share them with you:

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella - February 8th

NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR Sophie Kinsella's emotionally charged, witty new standalone novel about love and long-term relationship survival - and how those we think we know best can sometimes surprise us the most . . .

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other's sentences. They have a happy marriage and believe they know everything there is to know about each other. Until it's casually mentioned to them that they could be together for another sixty-eight years... and panic sets in.

They quickly decide to create little surprises for each other, to keep their relationship fresh and fun. But in their pursuit of Project Surprise Me - anything from unexpected gifts to restaurant dates to photo shoots - mishaps arise with disastrous and comical results. 

Gradually, the surprises turn to shocking discoveries. And when a scandal from the past is uncovered, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all...

Why so excited: A new Sophie Kinsella book is always a highlight in my bookish world. She is one of my auto-buy authors and I absolutely love her latest, My Not So Perfect Life. So I have great expectations for this one!


Sunflowers in February by Phyllida Shrimpton - February 8th

This funny yet heartbreaking novel movingly explores what happens when Lily dies in a car accident. The trouble is, Lily is really not sure at all if she wants to 'move on' . . . For fans of John Green and The Lovely Bones

Lily wakes up one crisp Sunday morning on the side of the road. 

She has no idea how she got there. It is all very peaceful. And very beautiful. It is only when the police car, and then the ambulance, arrive and she sees her own body that she realises that she is in fact... dead. 

But what is she supposed do now? 

Lily has no option but to follow her body and sees her family - her parents and her twin brother - start falling apart. And then her twin brother Ben gives her a once in a deathtime opportunity - to use his own body for a while. But will Lily give Ben his body back? She is beginning to have a rather good time . . .

A moving, startlingly funny yet achingly sad debut novel from a stunning new talent.

Why so excited: I love discovering new author and this debut sounds like my kind story. I think the concept sounds very intriguing and I'm sure this will touch many hearts. 


Best Practice by Penny Parkes - February 22nd

THE BRAND NEW BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF OUT OF PRACTICE

Love and laughter with the residents of Larkford is exactly what the doctor ordered!

Dr Alice Walker has become accomplished at presenting a fa├žade to the world – to anyone watching, she is the epitome of style, composure and professionalism. But perhaps it was to be expected that the cracks might begin to show at some point. Thankfully Grace is on hand to offer both friendship and support when it’s needed most.

Meanwhile, Dr Holly Graham has her hands full both professionally and personally. Planning a wedding with Taffy Jones is challenging enough, even before some surprising news changes everything. At least beloved Larkford resident, Elsie, still has a few tricks left up her sleeve!

Dr Dan Carter, on the other hand, has decided to throw himself into his career – the best antidote he’s found to unrequited love. When tragedy strikes in the heart of Larkford, Dan makes it his mission to help the community.

Why so excited: And we are back in Larkford! I've loved the previous two books set in this lovely village, with the practice in its centre and I am really looking forward to catching up with this characters, especially with a wedding in the horizon! 




Villa of Secrets by Patricia Wilson - February 22nd

If you love The Island and Cartes Postales from Greece by Victoria Hislop, you will love this perfect summer read from the author of Island of Secrets.

Rebecca Neumanner has spent years trying to conceive a child. Her fragile marriage is on the brink of collapse, and her desire to become a mother is becoming an obsession. Then she receives news from her estranged family in Rhodes, and Rebecca's world is turned upside down.

Drawn to the beautiful island of her birth, she finds herself looking at the elderly lady in front of her and realising how little she knows of the grandmother she's eluded for over a decade. A freedom fighter in the Second World War, her Bubba harbours secrets that she has intended to take to the grave. But those secrets affect everyone, and perhaps they are not hers to keep. With Rebecca's arrival, the time has come to tell the truth...

Why so excited: how intriguing does this story sound? I cannot wait to discover all the secrets that await us in the beautiful island of Rhodes. Plus, for my stop in the Blog Tour, Patricia Wilson will stop by and answer all my bookish questions! 


The Perfectly Imperfect Woman by Milly Johnson - February 22nd

The brand new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Queen of Wishful Thinking - a gorgeous read full of love, life and laughter.

Marnie Salt has made so many mistakes in her life that she fears she will never get on the right track. But when she ‘meets’ an old lady on a baking chatroom and begins confiding in her, little does she know how her life will change.

Arranging to see each other for lunch, Marnie discovers that Lilian is every bit as mad and delightful as she’d hoped – and that she owns a whole village in the Yorkshire Dales, which has been passed down through generations. And when Marnie needs a refuge after a crisis, she ups sticks and heads for Wychwell – a temporary measure, so she thinks.

But soon Marnie finds that Wychwell has claimed her as its own and she is duty bound not to leave. Even if what she has to do makes her as unpopular as a force 12 gale in a confetti factory! But everyone has imperfections, as Marnie comes to realise, and that is not such a bad thing – after all, your flaws are perfect for the heart that is meant to love you.

The Perfectly Imperfect Woman is the heart-warming and hilarious new novel from the queen of feel-good fiction – a novel of family, secrets, love and redemption … and broken hearts mended and made all the stronger for it. 

Why so excited: I haven't read a Milly Johnson book for far too long and it's about time to change that. Her books always make you feel better with yourself and the world and this is exactly what we need now!


The Year that Changed Everything by Cathy Kelly (22/2)

Treat yourself to the wonderfully life-affirming new novel from Number 1 bestselling author Cathy Kelly

Three women celebrate their birthdays... 30. 40. 50. But their milestone birthdays mark the start of a year that will change everything...

Ginger isn't spending her 30th the way she would have planned. Tonight might be the first night of the rest of her life - or a total disaster.

Sam is finally pregnant after years of trying. When her waters break on the morning of her 40th birthday, she panics: forget labour, how is she going to be a mother?

Callie is celebrating her 50th at a big party in her Dublin home. Then a knock at the door mid-party turns her perfect life upside down...

Full of warmth and wisdom, this is a story about finding happiness on your own terms from international bestseller Cathy Kelly.

Why so excited: Surprisingly, I haven't read any books by Cathy Kelly yet but I have heard great things about them. This one caught my attention because this year I am turning 30 myself and I also feel like it could be the year that changes everything.

You Might Also Like

1 comentaris

  1. Good luck with your move. I haven't heard of Sunflowers in February thanks for putting it on my radar.

    ReplyDelete