Book Review: While I Was Sleeping by Dani Atkins


While I Was Sleeping by Dani Atkins is out now, a brand new and brilliant emotional family drama for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson, from the bestselling author of Fractured.

Title: While I Was Sleeping 
Author: Dani Atkins
Published: August 23rd 2018 by Simon & Schuster

Blurb: What if someone else was living your happy ever after? 

When Maddie wakes up in a hospital bed, she can't remember anything about what happened to her or what has changed.

She just remembers she was about to be married and had everything to look forward to.

But it seems life has become a lot more complicated while she has been asleep...

Review: Dani Atkins' stories should come with a warning: This book will break your heart. Every single one of her novels has stolen a tiny bit of mine. 

In While I Was Sleeping we meet Maddie, who is about to get married to the most wonderful guy. I liked her since page one and during the first part I really warmed to her character. But then, she had an accident and went into a coma. I really had no idea how the story was going to unfold after this but Dani Atkins had so many surprised in store for us that I was glued to the pages of this book for hours.

I felt so many emotions while reading Maddie's story. I went from rage to tears and from tears to joy and then back again to tears several times. I think I hadn't felt so strongly about a book in a long while. All the characters felt real, like the story was happening to close friends of mine, not to fictional characters. This story really got under my skin.

If by now you are wondering, why would I pick this if it is only going to make me suffer? Well, the story telling is beautiful and the character development is stunning. You are going to step in their shoes and your opinion about them will change. You are going to wonder, more than once, what would you do in their place? And above all, you are going to share all little joys and the tender moments with them. This book will make you cry, yes. But it will also bring you so much joy. 

If you have loved Dani Atkins' previous books, then you are in for a real treat, as this is, without a doubt, her best and most emotional story yet. If you are new to her stories, then grab some tissues, some comfort food and enjoy, you are in for quite an eventful ride!

Rating: 5 stars

I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book. This is my honest opinion.

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris