Book Review: The Broken Hearts Honeymoon by Lucy Dickens

The wedding is off, but adventure awaits... The perfect armchair escape for fans of Jo Thomas, Jenny Colgan and Phillipa Ashley.


Title: The Broken Hearts Honeymoon
Author: Lucy Dickens
Published: July 1st 2020 by Cornerstone Digital

Blurb: When disaster strikes, adventure calls…

Charlotte had a plan. The perfect country wedding, followed by a month-long honeymoon in Japan – but when her fiancĂ© starts having second thoughts, she knows there's no choice but to call off the wedding.

Charlotte isn’t sure she knows how to be single, but she is going to try, starting with taking that trip of a lifetime – alone.

Will she find herself in the hills of Mount Fuji, or in the karaoke bars of Tokyo?

And will she be ready for romance by the time the cherry blossom flowers?


Review: I had such a great time reading The Broken Hearts Honeymoon. Definitely one of the best armchair adventures I have had this year. Japan was already on my top places to visit but after reading this story, it is now on the very top. 

Charlotte was an amazing main character. When we meet her at the beginning of the story, she is about to get married to her long term boyfriend. She is excited to start a new chapter in her life: wedding, honeymoon and moving to London for her dream internship in a travel magazine. But when she finds out that her fiancĂ© is not as excited as her... she needs to make some big changes in her life, starting with figuring out who she is without him. 

It was an absolute pleasure following Charlotte's adventures, not only because of all the beautiful places she visited but because following her journey to discover what a brave and smart woman she is was really inspiring. Sometimes we forget who are as individuals and what we are capable of, so it is important to find the time to invest in yourself and your wellbeing.  

And as I said, she visits some truly fascinating places while in Japan. Lucy Dickens makes a marvelous job of describing them, they come alive as you read about all of them. I could perfectly picture it all, from the sandy beaches, to the gorgeous food, to the temples... 

And finally, a special mention to Dickens' hilarious writing style. She made me laugh constantly, but also made me feel emotional on all the important moments. This is indeed a very special read that will bring lots of positive vibes, highly recommended to enjoy a bit of an adventure from home. 


Rating: 5 stars


I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest opinion.

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris