Blog Tour: People We Love - Jenny Harper + Giveaway!

Jenny Harper is back with the fourth instalment in her popular Heartlands series.
People We Love will be on tour for the next few weeks, visiting some of the best and brightest book blogs for reviews, guest posts and a colourful giveaway!
PWL web-1
What they say:

For readers of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and David Nicholls, you will love Jenny Harper's People We Love. 

Her life is on hold – until an unlikely visitor climbs in through the kitchen window.

A year after her brother’s fatal accident, Lexie’s life seems to have reached a dead end. She is back home in small-town Hailesbank with her shell-shocked parents, treading softly around their fragile emotions.

As the family business drifts into decline, Lexie’s passion for painting and for her one-time mentor Patrick have been buried as deep as her unexpressed grief, until the day her lunch is interrupted by a strange visitor in a bobble hat, dressing gown and bedroom slippers, who climbs through the window. Elderly Edith’s batty appearance conceals a secret and starts Lexie on a journey that gives her an inspirational artistic idea and rekindles her appetite for life. With friends in support and ex-lover Cameron seemingly ready to settle down, do love and laughter beckon after all?   

Review: This was my first book by Jenny Harper but probably won't be the last as I found People We Love to be a beautiful tale. Lexie was a joy to read about, with her crazy red hair and her obsession with vintage clothing (she doesn't even own a pair of jeans!). But she really was a very lovable character. She and her family had gone through so much with her brother's death that they had fallen in a dark place and didn't know how to get out. Until Edith. This lovely old lady appeared in their lives and changed everything. It was hard but beautiful to read about her. Her dementia made her life in another era, but she certainly taught us all a lot about life.

And then there was Pavel, for me, the star of the story. This old Polish man had a vintage shop in town and through the years had become Lexie's confident. He made me shade more than one tear through the story.

Each chapter of People We Love starts with the description of a pair of shoes. I was very intrigued by this short pieces as every pair was accompanied by a short story. Once I knew the significance of these pieces, I fell in love with the idea. But if you have to find out more about these shoes and their secrets, you'll have to read this beautiful story yourself. 


Jenny CC 6 web

Author Bio:
Jenny Harper lives in Edinburgh. She is the author of four books about Scotland and Scottish culture, a history of childbirth, and The Sleeping Train for young readers. When she isn't writing, she enjoys walking in the Scottish countryside or anywhere warm, and travelling to Europe, America and India.  
Find Jenny

Enter via the Rafflecopter below to win:
PWL web
1st Prize: 1 x Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolour Sketchers Pocket Set and an E-copy of People We Love by Jenny Harper
2nd Prize: 1 x Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolour Sketchers' Pocket Set

 Giveaway is international. Jenny Harper and CandleLit Author Services reserve the right to cancel or amend giveaway details at anytime and without prior notification.

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris