April Releases I Am Excited About

These Days of Ours by Juliet Ashton - April 7th

A novel about love. Raw important love. Small, beautiful love. And what happens when the person you love cannot be yours… Perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman, Jane Green and David Nicholls. 

Kate and Becca are cousins and best friends. They have grown up together and shared all the most important milestones in their lives: childhood birthday parties, eighteenth birthdays, and now a wedding day as they each marry their childhood sweethearts, Charlie and Julian. 

Kate has always loved Charlie - they were meant to be. Then she discovers that life never turns out quite how you expect it to. And love doesn't always follow the journey it should. 

But best friends are forever, and true love will find a way, won't it…?

Why so excited: I had the pleasure to attend the Spring Bloggers Evening at Books and the City and Juliet Ashton read us an extract of this novel. She also talked a bit about her writing process and what this story meant to her. It sound like an amazing read and I can't wait to start it!

The Missing by C.L. Taylor - April 7th
You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She's not the only one. There isn't a single member of Billy's family that doesn't feel guilty. But the Wilkinson’s are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn't until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things – that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother's instinct is never wrong. Or is it?

Why so excited: The Missing is one of my most anticipated books of the year. C. L. Taylor stories are amazing, so gripping and creepy. I can't wait to find out what she has come up with next! 

The Summer We Danced by Fiona Harper - April 7th

Shall we dance?

After a humiliating divorce and watching her former rock star husband leave her for a model live on reality TV, Pippa is determined to disappear. So she returns to the small Kent village where she grew up to make a fresh start.

Little did she know that would mean saving her beloved childhood dance school or falling for her old school crush Tom too!

Why so excited: I've actually haven't read any books by Fiona Harper but I've always heard great things about them so when I was offered to review her latest one, I jumped at the opportunity. It sounds like my kind of story, up lifting, cute and romantic! 

Somewhere Inside of Happy by Anna McPartlin
'And just like that my boy was gone.'

Maisie Brennan is standing on a podium on the twentieth anniversary of the death of her son, trying to find the first breath that will help her start talking to a room full of strangers. A daunting task at the best of times, but she's also menopausal and one hot flush away from totally losing it.

But as Maisie begins her story, she soon relaxes and word by word disappears into her past, back to 1st January 1995 – the day when one mistaken action led to a chain of events that changed her life for ever...

If you laughed and cried reading Anna McPartlin's bestselling story The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes, then Somewhere Inside of Happy will have you smiling and tearful all over again.

Why so excited: I know this story is going to break me but I can't wait for it. The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes was absolutely amazing and I'm sure this one will be no less.

My Map of You by Isabelle Broom - April 21st

Holly Wright has had a difficult few years. After her mother's death, she's become expert at keeping people at a distance - including her boyfriend, Rupert.

But when Holly receives an unexpected letter explaining that an aunt she never met has left her a house on the Greek island of Zakynthos, the walls she has built begin to crumble. Arriving on the island, Holly meets the handsome Aidan and slowly begins to uncover the truth about the secret which tore her family apart.

But is the island where Holly really belongs? Or will her real life catch up with her first?

Why so excited: Little secret, I've already read this one and it's amazing! Seriously, pick your copy and get lost in turquoise waters and family secrets.

The Chic Boutique on Baker St. by Rachel Dove - April 21st

Amanda is making the idyllic escape to the countryside to find a new life. Ben is picking up the pieces of his life after his wife left. 

Could a chance encounter outside Amanda's 'chic boutique' set them on the road to renewed happiness? Shop owner Amanda leaves London behind for life in the country and find's love with local vet Ben in this fun, addictive winner of the Prima Flirty Fiction competition. 

Why so excited: I love discovering new authors, so when I was offered Rachel Dove's debut to review, I couldn't resist. I mean, who can resist a story with a sexy vet? Plus, look at that cover, just looking at it I want to leave everything behind and move there!

After the Lie by Kerry Fisher - April 29th

One little lie can make one big difference… 

Lydia has the ‘right’ kind of friends, her children are at the ‘right’ kind of school and she’s married to the ‘right’ sort of man – kind, steady, reliable Mark. Her wedding business is flourishing and even though she is at loggerheads with her mother, she couldn’t ask for anything more from life. 

But the truth is that Lydia has been lucky. She has been living a lie for years and Mark has no idea who he is really married to. But nothing lasts forever and the past has a funny way of catching up with the present. When the person who knows all of Lydia’s dark little secrets turns up at the school gates, his presence threatens to blow Lydia’s life apart. 

What is Lydia’s terrible truth? Once the secret is out, you can’t put it back…

Why so excited: I've already read this one and oh! The tension! I read it in two sitting because I needed to know it all! It is a tense and clever story that will keep you on your toes.

As you can see, April is going to be an amazing month for books! I usually pick only 5 releases but this month I just couldn't narrow it down any more. 

You Might Also Like

2 comentaris

  1. Great choices Alba. I've seen most of these on Twitter. Look forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Thanks for linking #TalkoftheTown

  2. I love this choice! The Fiona Harper one is the one I definitely don't want to miss. Thanks for linking up to #TalkoftheTown, Alba.