Blog Tour: Searching for a Silver Lining - Guest Post by Miranda Dickinson

Today I'm really excited to welcome one of my favourite writers to the blog, Miranda Dickinson. She has just published her latest book, Searching for a Silver Lining, and to celebrate, she stops by today to talk a very special road trip: 

Searching for a Silver Lining Locations - #3: The Road Trip 

At the heart of Searching for a Silver Lining is an incredible journey that vintage shop owner Mattie Bell, former 1950s star Reenie Silver and club owner Gil Kendrick embark upon to try to reunite a once-famous singing group for a final gig. When I started to write the story, this epic adventure was what I was most looking forward to portraying – so I asked my lovely Twitter followers where they thought the road trip should visit. The answers took me to the four corners of Great Britain! 

Alnwick in Northumberland is the trip’s first destination, to meet Reenie’s former Silver Five colleague, Tommy Mullins. I have family living in the town and several of my followers wanted to see part of the story set there. Plus, Alnwick has a fabulous bookshop in the old railway station, so it was the perfect venue for Reenie and Tommy to be reunited. Alnwick also the setting for one of Reenie’s most outrageous scenes – you’ll have to read the story to find out what happens there! 

Next, the road trip visits Cambridge, which was suggested by one of my lovely Twitter followers and is somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit. It’s the home of June Knight, Reenie’s nemesis in the group, who always believed she should have been lead singer. It’s the setting for a battle I hope you’ll remember for a long time, plus a whole lot more… 

In the beautiful city of Bath, home of Johnny ‘Chuck’ Powell, the three road trip members discover more about each other. It was a hugely popular location amongst my Twitter followers, so a natural choice for the road trip’s next stop. There’s a truly magical scene here that was inspired by a wonderful weekend I spent in the city with my husband Bob for my 40th birthday. 

The last member of The Silver Five to be visited is Alys Davis, who after the break-up of the band became a national treasure in Wales. She now lives in Llangynidr, a lovely village near Crickhowell in Powys. This is a very personal choice because my sister and her family live there! The road trippers (who now include young hitchhikers Kelvin and Pru) stay at a hotel in Crickhowell, overlooking the river – it’s a lovely town and also has a fantastic bookshop! 

Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy reading the story!

About the Book:

Title: Searching for a Silver Lining
Author: Miranda Dickinson
Published: October 20th 2016 by Pan

Blurb: It began with a promise...

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything...

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

About the author:
Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. From an early age she dreamed of writing a book that would make the heady heights of Kingswinford Library and today she is a bestselling author. She began to write in earnest when a friend gave her The World’s Slowest PC, and has subsequently written the bestselling novelsFairytale of New York, Welcome to My World, It Started With a Kiss, When I Fall in Love, Take A Look At Me Now,I’ll Take New York and A Parcel for Anna Browne. Miranda lives with her husband Bob and daughter Flo in Dudley.

To find out more about Miranda visit and find her on Twitter @wurdsmyth.


You Might Also Like

6 comentaris

  1. I like the sound of this book and I loved hearing the author's reasons how why the places in the story were chosen. Another one to add to the TBR list.

    1. I loved this one, very up-lifting and warm story! And the road trip adds a really fun touch, definitely recommended :)

  2. This sounds like a huge amount of fun! As someone who's been living in Cambridge for the last few years, I'm glad Miranda and her characters got to visit this lovely city.

    1. I think she ended up choosing a very interesting selection of places. I really enjoyed reading about them and the characters on each place :)

  3. I remember your review Alba (how much you felt uplifted!). Lovely guest post.

    1. Yes, such a lovely story! I found Miranda's post (and the other posts on the Blog Tour) really interesting, it's always great to know more about a book you enjoyed :)