Book Review: The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce


Today I am reviewing The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce, published earlier this year. You can read my thoughts about it here:

Title: The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts 
Author: Jennifer Joyce
Published: February 8th 2017 by HQ Stories

Blurb: A deliciously charming romance, perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Jane Linfoot and Debbie Johnson. 

From fairy cakes to first dates!

Maddie Lamington’s dreams are crumbling around her. If she doesn’t come up with a plan to save her little teashop on Sweet Street soon, it might be too late…

So when she sees how the perfect apple crumble brings together her lonely father and faithful customer Birdie, inspiration strikes: she’ll set up a dating night involving all her sweetest bakes.

Luckily, seriously gorgeous Caleb is on hand to help sprinkle a little magic – and a lot of sugar! Could one night of scrumptious first dates fix Maddie’s heartbreak and save her beloved teashop, too?

Review: As you can tell from the title, The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts is all about tea, cake and love. The story starts with a broken heart, Maddie's, who after breaking it up with her fiancĂ© decides to finally open her own teashop. The problem is that nobody has noticed it so far so her customers are really scarce. 

What I liked about this story is that it had a very original idea behind the main plot: speed dating with cake. I especially liked the first idea Maddie had, to match people according to their cake choices. But the idea was not as well executed as I first hoped. The story was quite slow, with not many things happening at first, except the fact that the teashop was in trouble. Then the idea of speed dating came up and again, there was a lot of talking but not a lot of action and when it finally happened, it was done and dusted quite quickly.

I was also a bit in two minds about the characters. Some of them I really liked, like Maddie, Mags or Caleb but then there were a few characters that got a lot of mentions in the story but nothing really happened with them, like the couple that worked next door, George and Rehana or Maddie's ex-best friend. I think there was no need to add them, as there were enough main characters with their own stories and problems. 

This doesn't mean that I didn't enjoy reading this book. It actually made me smile a lot and it's quite an easy read to enjoy this summer. Especially if you enjoy cake and sweet treats as it's full of ideas and descriptions that had my mouth watering the whole time. I'm sure I'll try my hand at baking more than one of the treats mentioned. 

Rating: 3 stars

I would like to thank the publishers for sending me a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest opinion.

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris