Book Review: Sealed with a Kiss by Rachael Lucas

Title: Sealed with a Kiss
Author: Rachael Lucas
Published: May 8th 2014 by Pan
Amazon | Amazon UK

Blurb: Kate is dumped on her best friend's wedding day by the world's most boring boyfriend, Ian. She's mostly cross because he got in first - until she remembers she's now homeless as well as jobless. Rather than move back home to her ultra-bossy mother, Kate takes a job on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor as an all-round Girl Friday. Her first day is pretty much a disaster: she falls over, smack bang at the feet of her grouchy new boss, Roddy, Laird of the Island. Unimpressed with her townie ways, he makes it clear she's got a lot to prove.

Island life has no room for secrets, but prickly Roddy's keeping something to himself. When his demanding ex girlfriend appears back on the island, Kate's budding friendship with her new boss comes to an abrupt end. What is Fiona planning - and can she be stopped before it's too late?

This funny, big-hearted novel is the perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

*First of all I would like to thank the publishers for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Review: I can't believe it took me so long to finally read Sealed with a Kiss. What a beautiful story! But what I think stole my heart completely was the setting. All I want to do now is leave everything behind and live in a Scottish island with views to the sea and seals as my friends. Well, and if there's a gorgeous Laird too around, I wouldn't mind at all.

Kate is 26, jobless, homeless and boyfriendless (and a bit lost too) so when she reads an ad to be a Girl Friday in a remote island she takes it, even if she has no idea what a Girl Friday is supposed to do. Which doesn't impress her new boss at the slightest. But as the story unfolds, we see how Kate starts feeling a bit less lost and more at home at the island. She gains self-confidence and starts showing what she is capable of. She is such a lovely girl and I really enjoyed reading about her progress. 

But apart from the Laird himself, the island is full of fun, quirky characters that need to know everything about everyone but that also make Kate part of their big family. They were all so friendly. Well almost all, there was some bitchiness in the air too to make the story more interesting. But all in all, I think all the characters were believable and well developed and Rachael gave us snippets of their individual stories so they felt like old friends to me.

Sealed with a Kiss is a lovely and sweet story about finding your place in the world (in the most unexpected way), and believing in yourself and in love. A real feel-gooey-inside read with a stunning setting. I can't wait to read more by Rachael Lucas now. 


You Might Also Like

0 comentaris