September Releases I Am Excited About

September is around the corner and it comes packed with new and exciting titles. I've had the pleasure of already reading some of them and I can't tell you how good they are. I'm also really excited to read new installments in some of my favourite series and also to start with my Christmas reading! 

A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart - September 1st

Alex loves his family, and yet he struggles to connect with his eight-year-old autistic son, Sam. The strain has pushed his marriage to the breaking point. So Alex moves in with his merrily irresponsible best friend on the world’s most uncomfortable blow-up bed.

As Alex navigates single life, long-buried family secrets, and part-time fatherhood, his son begins playing Minecraft. Sam’s imagination blossoms and the game opens up a whole new world for father and son to share. Together, they discover that sometimes life must fall apart before you can build a better one.

Inspired by the author’s own relationship with his autistic son, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, funny, and, most, of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy.

Why so excited: This is unmissable. I've already read it and I can tell you that it will be one of my books of the year. A very special story that will touch many hearts. 

Autumn at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn - September 6th

As autumn starts to draw in and the nights are getting darker, the fire is lit at the Star and Sixpence and Nessie and Sam start to turn their thoughts to the annual bonfire night. The village comes together every year to celebrate the turning of the season and this year is going to be extra-special.

Why so excited: This is the 4th installment in the Star and Sixpence series. I really enjoyed the first three parts so I'm really curious to find out what happens next! 

The Girl from the Savoy by Hazel Gaynor - September 8th 

The new rich and compelling novel from the author of The Girl Who Came Home. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Dolly Lane is a dreamer; a downtrodden maid who longs to dance on the London stage, but the outbreak of war takes everything from her: Teddy, the man she loves – and her hopes of a better life.

When she secures employment as a chambermaid at London’s grandest hotel, The Savoy, Dolly’s proximity to the dazzling guests makes her yearn for a life beyond the grey drudgery she was born into. Her fortunes take an unexpected turn when she responds to an unusual newspaper advert and finds herself thrust into the heady atmosphere of London’s glittering theatre scene and into the sphere of the celebrated actress, Loretta May, and her brother, Perry.

All three are searching for something, yet the aftermath of war has cast a dark shadow over them all. A brighter future is tantalisingly close – but can a girl like Dolly ever truly leave her past behind?

Why so excited: This is a gem of a book. If had the pleasure of reading it already and I found it a very well researched story with many layers that delivers a lot more than you might expect. Highly recommended!

Destination Chile by Katy Colins - September 22nd

Welcome to Paradise

Next on her bucket list Georgia Green is heading to Chile, but this time she’s not going alone…

The new favourite series for fans of The Curvy Girls Club, theShopaholic series and Eat, Pray, Love.
Join Georgia Green for a romantic trip into the sunset…

Why so excited: This is the year of Katy Colins, I am loving her The Lonely Hearts Travel Series and I can't wait to explore a new continent with her. If you haven't picked one of her books yet, you are missing out!

The Deviants by C J Skuse - September 22nd


Ella, Max, Corey, Fallon and Zane.

The Fearless Five, inseparable as children growing up in a sleepy English seaside town. But when Max’s older sister is killed, the friendship seems to die with her.


Only Max and Ella are in touch, still best friends and a couple since they were thirteen. But Ella is hiding things – like why she’s afraid to take their relationship to the next level. And when underdog Corey is bullied, the Fearless Five are brought back together again, teaming up to wreak havoc and revenge on those who have wronged them.

But when the secrets they are keeping can no longer be kept quiet, will their fearlessness be enough to save them from themselves?

Why so excited: How cool does this look? I am very intrigued by this story and I've only heard praise about it. Luckily I've got an advance copy so I'll be diving in very soon. 

Christmas under a Cranberry Sky by Holly Martin - September 22nd

This year spend a wonderful Christmas on Juniper Island, where love can melt even the iciest of hearts… 

Piper Chesterfield lives a glamorous life travelling the world and reviewing the finest hotels. She calls nowhere home, she works alone and that’s how she likes it. For long ago Piper decided that to protect her heart she should lock it away. 

So when Piper’s next assignment brings her to the newly opened Stardust Lake Hotel for the festive season, the last person she expects to face is Gabe Whitaker, the man who broke her heart so completely she could never love again. 

But Piper isn’t the only one who has been frozen in time by heartbreak. Gabe hasn’t forgotten the golden-eyed girl who disappeared from his world without a trace. 

Now fate has reunited them on Juniper island, can the magic of Christmas heal old wounds? And can this enchanting town be the one place Piper can finally call home?

Why so excited: With September, the first Christmas books are starting to arrive! I love Christmas stories and Holly Martin's new one couldn't sound more christmassy. I'll probably be my next read because I just can resist Holly's books! 

Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafè by Debbie Johnson - September 23rd

Becca Fletcher hates Christmas so much, she’s considering getting ‘Bah Humbug!’ tattooed on her forehead. She has her reasons for being Little Miss Grinch; Reasons that make this the very worst time of year for her.

Now, though, she can’t avoid her version of ho-ho-hell – because she’s travelling to the Comfort Food Cafe to spend the festive season with her sister Laura, and her family. She’s expecting mulled wine, the smell of pine trees, 24-hour Christmas movie marathons and all kinds of very merry torture.

But little does Becca know that the Comfort Food Cafe is like no other place on earth. Perched on a snow-covered hill on a windswept bay, it’s a place full of friendship; a place where broken hearts can heal, and a place where new love can blossom. It’s a place where Becca’s Christmas miracle really could happen – if only she can let it…

Inviting readers new and old to pull up a cosy armchair, Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe is the novella-length follow-up to the 2016 best-seller Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe.

Why so excited: I adored Summer at the Comfort Food Cafè so I'm really excited to be back at this magical place. I hope we'll catch up with old friends but also meet new ones. I'm sure the cafè will be just as special during Christmas!

You Might Also Like

2 comentaris

  1. Great great list-cannot wait for the Holly Hepburn's Autumn segment either, I don't know how I'll cope with it when it ends! I just finished A Boy Made of Blocks and really, really loved it too. Oh and I'm saving The Girl From The Savoy as my special winter sit back and fully ingest it book. I adore Hazel Gaynor!

    1. Thank you! A Boy Made of Blocks is fantastic right? It's such a brilliant and unique story. I'm sure you'll love The Girl from the Savoy! It's a bit different from her previous books as equally charming and deep.

      I think I'll miss the Star and Sixpence when the series is over but right now I'm really curious to know how they are doing! :)

      Happy reading Bernadette!