Book Review: The Day We Met by Roxie Cooper



The Day We Met is an immensely moving and heart-warming epic love story perfect for fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December and Zoƫ Folbigg's The Note. Published in ebook last month, it's out now in paperback too and here are my thoughts on this story:

Title: The Day We Met 
Author: Roxie Cooper
Published: March 7th 2019 by Ebury Press

Blurb: Stephanie and Jamie are meant to be. The problem is they're both with other people...

Stephanie doesn’t believe in fate, true love or living happily ever after. She’s content enough being engaged to Matt. But then she meets Jamie, who understands her more than anyone else ever has.

Jamie is happily married to his childhood sweetheart Helen and believes in everything Stephanie doesn’t. So why does he have such a strong connection with Stephanie?

When Stephanie and Jamie meet one fateful weekend in 2006 it will change everything...

Ten years. Two people. One epic love story. 

Review: Stephanie and Jamie's was definitely an epic love story and I absolutely loved it. I immediately could feel a very special connection between them and as the years passed and they kept meeting once per year, I couldn't but root for them, even when they were still committed to their own partners. 

I found Stephanie to be a very interesting and complex character. She worked really hard on learning to love herself and she deserved a lot better in life than what she got. She was inspiring and she made this book a very special one. In contrast, I didn't feel that connected to Jamie, especially in the first part of the book. I did love how he kind of wake Stephanie up and made her realize she was worth a lot more but while reading his story, I kept getting mad at him. She was a lot braver than him.

As you can see, I was pretty invested in this story. I went through so many emotions while reading it and it took me by surprise several times. This is a very emotional book, so make sure to have some tissue ready, there will be tears. 

The Day We Met is a very well written love story that will make you ask yourself many questions. It's up-lifting but heart-breaking too. It's honest but complex. It feels real from the first page to the last. And just like love itself, it's complicated and messy but totally worth it. 

Rating: 5 stars

I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest opinion.

You Might Also Like

0 comentaris